Webinars 90th: Commemorating the 90th anniversary year of the Holodomor

HOLODOMOR STORIES: RECENT READS FOR SCHOOLS

HREC Education presents a free webinar series of dynamic talks with authors of middle-grade and young adult fiction featuring their recently published novels relating to the Holodomor. The series will run from Fall of 2022 into Fall of 2023 to commemorate the 90th anniversary year of the Holodomor. Webinars will be introduced by HREC Director of Education Valentina Kuryliw and hosted by Mateusz Świetlicki.

 

HOLODOMOR STORIES: RECENT READS FOR SCHOOLS

THURSDAY NOVEMBER 17, 2022 • 7:30 PM EST / 6:30 PM CST / 5:30 PM MST
Author Adrian Lysenko talks about his graphic novel, Five Stalks of Grain with illustrator Ivanka Theodosia Galadza
Read details

A powerful and haunting graphic novel that tells a story of tragedy and survival during the Holodomor, the terror-famine that claimed millions of lives in Soviet Ukraine.

 

HOLODOMOR STORIES: RECENT READS FOR SCHOOLS

THURSDAY OCTOBER 13, 2022 • 7:30 PM EDT
Author Marsha Skrypuch talks about her latest novel, Winterkill
Read details

This incredibly gripping and timely story set during the Holodomor in 1930s Ukraine introduces young readers to a pivotal moment in history – and helps students understand current events in Ukraine.